Processors must follow lead of Lakeland and Glanbia - O'Leary

All of the dairy co-operatives should now follow the lead of Lakeland and Glanbia and increase the prices they are paying for July milk by a minimum of one cent per litre, the Chairman of the IFA’s Dairy Committee Sean O’Leary contends.

With a positive market outlook, there is both a capacity to increase returns and there is, indeed, little justification for failing to do so. Butter prices are strong, production in the EU is being reduced and the results from global markets such as GDT and PPI have been at worst stable lately.


Major challenges facing beef sector

The Tullamore Show over the weekend afforded the IFA President Joe Healy the opportunity to give an overview of the state of the Irish agricultural landscape and the prospects and challenges that it faces.

This is an element in the economy which accounts for an output of €6.6 billon each year and because of the widespread level of activity right across the country, it is vital to every rural parish.