Kerry's Eye Sports

KERRY’S EYE online

KERRY’S EYE online

KERRY'S EYE THIS WEEK - Published Thursday 17th April, 2014


Jim O Gorman

Sports Editor


Kerry's Eye Sports Supplement



Aussie Rules KO?

Club delegates at the Kerry County Committee meeting on Monday were asked by county secretary Peter Twiss for their opinions on part 2 of the Fixtures Review Committee report - and a number of long-established competitions were given the thumbs down.

Delegates unanimously voted against the FRC recommendation that the International Rules series should be continued, with the suggestion that it had outlived its usefulness. The recommendation from FRC to relaunch the Inter-Provincial competition was also rejected with the feeling that the competition has also passed its sell-by date.

While the delegates were in favour of League finals they suggested that the semi-finals be scrapped.

The recommendation that the significant amount of Club Championship activity be from May to mid-August did not find favour, clubs fearing an exodus if their teams were knocked out in the early stages.

The recommendation that the All-Ireland Championships begin with 8 teams in each province was accepted as a good idea, but with concern as to where games with Leinster or Ulster counties would be played!

On the Minor age group to be reduced from 18 to 17, a large majority were in favour, but questions were asked as to whether or not there would be a consequent reduction in the current U21 competition.



Time to change Parish Rule?

Munster Council delegate, Joe Crowley, gave a presentation at this month’s County Board meeting on the discussions at the recent Club Forum whose purpose was to formulate policy going forward on a number of issues.

By Jim O’Gorman

In summing up, Mr Crowley floated the notion that maybe it is time for Kerry to take a look at the Parish Rule and try and figure out, at this point in time, if it is more of a hindrance than a help.

Recent social changes have impacted particularly harshly on rural areas. Debates about club sustainability have focused on many issues, particularly emigration and the movement of rural populations to the towns.

Clubs in urban environments are often able to field more than one senior side, whereas amalgamation has been the pattern elsewhere.

Mr Crowley explained that, “the GAA as a body was always able to embrace change, but embracing change in no longer good enough. We should now be leading the way with change.

“The Parish Rule has been the bedrock of the development of the GAA in Kerry. But is it or could it be the greatest impediment to the development of clubs in the future? Other counties operate different systems to our Parish Rule. How, or why or when should we change our Parish Rule?”

Wonderful West

PS Chorca Dhuibhne wrote a glorious new chapter into their own and Kerry GAA history last Saturday evening when captain Barra O Suilleabhain climbed the steps of the Hogan Stand to lift the All-Ireland colleges trophy.

St Pat’s Maghera, the reigning champions, went into the game as very strong favourites and it looked as if they had one hand on the trophy at half time, having gone in with 1-4 to their name including a goal from their talismanic midfielder Conor Glass and a strong defence holding PS Corca Dhuibhne to just two points.

Bainisteoir Eamonn Fitzmaurice refused to press any panic buttons. A clever switch of the versatile Tom O Suilleabhain paid early dividends, with a great Riobard O Se goal at the start of the second half putting St Pat’s on the back foot.

PS Chorca Dhuibhne maintained a disciplined onslaught all through the second half to finish 1-8 to 1-6 victors.

An emotional Fitzmaurice reflected afterwards.

“We didn't fear St Pat’s Maghera. They are a fantastic team, I remember looking at them in the All-Ireland final last year - they were unbelievable.

“But, at the same time, this Chorca Dhuibhne team have only lost one game in the past 5 or 6 years.

“When I came into the school Liam Higgins and Ciaran O Morain were doing incredible work.

“That tradition has always been there, there's always been a special bond between the clubs back in West Kerry, a lot of work done that we try to continue in the school.

“We are delighted.”

Read the full story in Kerry's Eye

Ras Mumhan attracts

record field

The 2014 Kerry Group Rás Mumhan four-day international cycle race will see the biggest ever field tackle 510km and 26 climbs around the roads of Kerry and west Cork.

With the decision to restrict the Rás to teams, rather than individual riders proving to be a masterstroke, teams from six nations will be ready for the starter’s flag on Good Friday afternoon in Killorglin.

England, Scotland, Isle of Man, Holland and Lithuania will line up against the Irish teams to compete for a €6,000 prize fund.

The high standard of the field is emphasised by the fact that there are 125 Category 1 riders in the field with 55 Cat 2 and the rest in Category 3 and there are 25 local riders on various teams.

Of the five former winners in the field, two are from Kerry – Sean Lacey in 2011 and Eugene Moriarty (2001) alongside Stephen O’Sullivan, Ciaran Power and defending champion Damien Shaw.

The Rás starts at 3.30pm on Good Friday in Killorglin and will finish in the same town’s centre on bank holiday Monday around 1pm with the Etape Rás Mumhan taking place on the Saturday in Kenmare at 9am.

With the Giro d’Italia due to begin in Belfast early next month, the Kerry Group Rás Mumhan is the chance for fans of cycling in Munster to come out and see the spectacle that is a racing peloton and cavalcade.

Read the full story in Kerry's Eye

Kerry's Eye

Meet our Sports TEAM

Micheal Quirke

Jim O Gorman, Sports Editor


Sylvester Hennessy



Michael Ferriter

Jimmy O'Sullivan DArcy

Christy Leahy

125 Years of

the GAA in Kerry

Produced by Kerry's Eye

Click image to view Digital Edition





Contact us

Read Kerry’s Eye on your Android tablet, iPad or iPhone


KERRY'S EYE NEWSPAPER,  22 Ashe Street, Tralee, Co. Kerry

Phone: 066 71 49200, Fax: 066 71 23163, Email:

Text Line: 087 9111198


Tablets & Phones

 Digital Edition


Download the Free App

from the App Store

Download the Free App

from the App Store

Not only can you read Kerry’s Eye on your computer

you can also read the full newspaper on your Android tablet, iPad or iPhone




Digital subscribers can also download the free Kerry’s Eye App from iTunes

to have the newspaper delivered to your iPad or iPhone every week.






           Wherever you are, keep Kerry with you

           The Kerry’s Eye Digital Edition bringing you the news from home every Thursday.




  Sign up for the Kerrys Eye Digital Edition


Talk to a Reporter

Colin Lacey, Editor




Anne Pullen

Phone: 087-2357781




Sinead Kelleher

Phone: 087-9303061




Michelle Crean

Phone: 086-1023233



Aidan O'Connor

Phone: 087-1221759




Breda Joy

Phone: 087-9372542





Gordon Revington

Phone: 087-4187464





22 Ashe Street, Tralee, Co. Kerry, Phone: 066 71 49200, Fax: 066 71 23163

Email:  Text Line: 087 9111198


Send us a Story


Submitting Form...

The server encountered an error.

Form received.

Captcha Image

Advertise in Kerry's Eye

Brendan Kennelly

Advertising & Marketing Manager


Phone 0872591140






22 Ashe Street, Tralee, Co. Kerry


Phone: 066 71 49200

Fax: 066 71 23163



Catherina Cunningham

Advertising Co-ordinator


Direct Line 066 71 49229









Eileen Curtin

Tralee and West Kerry


Phone: 087 2619023







Brendan O'Sullivan

Motoring and Farming


Phone: 087 227 3742



Tanya Allen

Tralee, Listowel, Abbeyfeale

and West Limerick


Phone: 087 6785469







Sean O'Keeffe

Killarney & South Kerry


Phone: 086 418 7454







Lisa Cloona

Castleisland, and North Kerry


Phone: 087 622 5383